Teens Turning Green Blog

JJ’s Bike Tour: The Conscious Kitchen Fundraiser

Jonathan Foley has been an integral part of getting The Conscious Kitchen off the ground and an enormous part of its success! He is also a skilled and enthusiastic bike rider. Here is his message to you…


“Friends and family, 
Join me in support of The Conscious Kitchen

I have just started cycling from Bar Harbor Maine to St. Michaels, Maryland and want to use the trip to raise money and awareness for a program that is near and dear to my heart called. The Conscious Kitchen. For those of you who don’t know The Conscious Kitchen is the first 100% organic and non-GMO school lunch program in the country. It is guided by these five terms; Fresh, Local, Organic, Seasonal, and non-GMO and currently serves one school district – the first in the country to be organic, non-GMO; Bayside MLK Academy and Willow Creek Academy in southern Marin County, California.

2015-TCK-Shot
Having worked with the program myself I have seen the results of providing students with the best possible school meals cooked from scratch by a chef on site, every day. This program is allowing students to engage with their teachers, peers, environment, and local food systems in a whole new way, giving them opportunities to eat, grown, harvest and explore as part of a school curriculum.

So what does this have to do with me riding my bike a long way?…Well that’s where you come in.

Here’s how it works…

1. Make a pledge amount now at the start of my ride
2. For the total number of states that I ride through on the trip your initial pledge will be multiplied by this number (states should not exceed 10)
3. At the end of the tour I will tally my states and send you all an email with your adjusted totals and a donation link to the Conscious Kitchen website.

So…if you think I will crash, give up, get bitten by a dog, etc…in the first week I would encourage you to pledge a lot! However if you think that I will make it the whole way then maybe pledge a smaller amount. Whatever you choose just know that this amount will be multiplied by the total states I ride through…so pledge wisely!
jjBike2
If your interested in supporting this incredible program, and want to bet on how far I can make it on my trip then all you have to do is…
1. email me at jjfoley2010@gmail.com with the subject line JJ Bike Tour for the CK
2. Tell me your name, initial pledge amount, and any words of wisdom for the road.

I will keep you all updated with pictures and videos from the road, and then at the conclusion of the tour I will email you back with your adjusted totals and a donation link to The Conscious Kitchen.

Thank you all!”

This entry was published on September 2, 2015 at 4:21 pm and is filed under Wear. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

