Teens Turning Green Blog

Homemade Granola Greatness

While it may sound simple, I had an absolute blast with this recipe and guarantee it’s worth trying. There are a lot of major pros to making your own granola at home 1) you can customize it with exactly the ingredients you want 2) you can lose the store-bought packaging 3) in my experience, it’s cheeper!

I got all of my granola ingredients from the bulk bins in my local Whole Foods Market and spent less than 5 dollars! More on why I chose my ingredients below recipe.

-RECIPE-

Ingredients: (all organic)

SONY DSC

1 1/2 c rolled oats

1/3 c goji berries

1/4 c raw slivered almond

1/4 c raw cashew pieces

1/4 c golden raisins

1/4 regular seedless raisins

1/3 c raw pumpkin seedsSONY DSC

1 c coconut flakes

1 tbsp nutiva coconut oil

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tsp cinnamon


-INSTRUCTIONS-

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Set aside coconut flakes and combine all other dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Then add coconut oil, maple syrup and cinnamon. With clean hands, combine all those ingredients, coating evening.

SONY DSC

Next spread the mixture out on a large baking sheet. (This is a great time to check out your ingredient ratio. Not enough goji berries? Too many almonds per cashew? Add a few more! You really can’t go wrong.) Now sprinkle coconut flakes over the granola mixture. I like to think of it as a temporary topping. Bake for 8 minutes, stir mixture with wooden spoon and bake for about another 5 minutes, or until granola is lightly toasted. Once it is out of the oven, let cool, store in jars or enjoy it however you like! (I love it with almond milk)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Why did I choose these ingredient? This sort of nut/seed/fruit granola is a great way to start your day because it’s balanced, delicious and so easy on the go. Nuts are a fantastic source of protein and fats. Seeds also provide protein and many other vitamins and minerals. I like to put dried fruit like raisins in my granola for some exciting sweetness, but careful not to overdue it! As for the Goji Berries… many claim them to be in the category of Super Food but I enjoy them mostly because they are not too sweet and very filling. The coconut flakes are actually my favorite part of this dish. This fat-rich source of magnesium melts in my mouth with sweet buttery goodness!

I actually had such a great time making this recipe, and my roommates had such a great time nibbling on it that I think next time I have the opportunity I will make a huge batch and give jars as gifts to friends an family!

Making your own granola at home is really too easy and fun not to try! Don’t like some of my ingredients? Skip them or substitute one that you love!

This entry was published on February 17, 2015 at 3:35 pm and is filed under Wear. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

